Cross country conference meet results

Senior Levi Geyer earned all-conference honors at the Southeast Iowa Super Conference cross country meet in Winfield Thursday night. Geyer placed fifth with a time of 17:18 on the 4.76k course. The top fifteen individual finishers in the meet are automatically all-conference selections. Sixteen schools participated in the meet. Iowa Mennonite placed twelfth among the fourteen full teams. Junior Jacob Boller was the team’s second runner placing forty-ninth in 19:32. Freshman Aaron Hershberger was the number three for the team placing seventy-first in a career best effort of 20:46. Gedeon Sangare also ran his best race of his career with a time of 21:19 for eighty-second place. Micah Miller had his season best effort taking eighty-sixth place in 21:36. Freshman John Hughes had his best race in his third outing for the maroon and white. He placed eighty-eighth in 21:43. Gibson Lowenberg was ninety-third in 23:03. Sophomore Colten Glosser of Pekin won the race in 16:52. Pekin also won the team title with Wapello taking second place. Jesse Slater came through with a career best effort in the junior varsity race finishing tenth in 20:59. Toby Chen and Johnny Diaz also ran career bests efforts in the race finishing in 22:55 and 24:00 respectively.

Boys Individual results  Team Scores  
Varsity    Pekin  63
Levi Geyer5th17:18 Wapello  81
Jacob Boller49th19:32 Winfield-Mt. Union116
Aaron Hershberger71st20:46 Holy Trinity 149
Gedeon Sangare82nd21:19 West Burlington/Notre Dame154
Micah Miller86th21:36 Danville-New London164
John Hughes88th21:43 Van Buren 173
Gibson Lowenberg93rd23:03 Columbus 194
     Mediapolis 222
Junior Varsity   Central Lee 224
Jesse Slater10th20:59 Lone Tree 257
Toby Chen23rd22:55 IMS  283
Johnny Diaz31st24:00 Louisa Muscatine 303
     Highland  340

Sophomore Sarena Gerber ran the fastest race of her cross country career Thursday in Winfield. Her time of 22:35 earned her twenty-ninth place in the field of seventy-five and was a huge improvement over her previous best race. Mackenzie Gutierrez was the team’s second finisher coming in 25:03 after the gun fired for fifty-second place. Rachel Geyer was five places and one minute back leading her teammates Kennedy Roth and Greta Schrag. The threesome placed fifty-seventh, fifty-eighth and fifty-ninth place in 26:02, 26:14 and 26:20 respectively. This was a huge improvement for Roth over all her previous races. Meredith Blossom also ran her fastest race of the season finishing in sixty-ninth place with a time of 28:53. Ainsley Shaw ran her fastest race of the season finishing in 30:09. Remi Duwa of Pekin won the race in 19:30 leading her team to a conference championship. Danville-New London was second in the team standings. 

The Iowa Mennonite cross country teams compete next at a meet hosted by Mediapolis Thursday, October 12. 

Girls Individual results  Team Scores 
Sarena Gerber29th 22:35 Pekin 49
Mackenzie Gutierrez52nd25:03 Danville/New London64
Rachel Geyer57th26:02 Mediapolis110
Kennedy Roth58th26:14 Highland 120
Greta Schrag59th26:20 Winfield-Mt. Union153
Meredith Blossom69th28:53 Lone Tree165
Ainsley Shaw74th30:09 Van Buren175
     Central Lee185
     Wapello 205
     Notre Dame215
     IMS 238