2017 Youth Salute

Cole Ours, Levi Geyer, Allison Moreland, Emma Beachy, Avery Blauvelt, Hannah Peters, Payton Hart, Rachael Hovde, Monet Slabach. Not pictured: Angela Marcelino

Eleven IMS students were among area high school seniors recognized at the Youth Salute leadership ceremony at the Englert Theatre in Iowa City, on Sunday, September 10th. Over 250 high school seniors from 16 area schools were honored for their academic achievement and leadership contributions. Students were selected by their high schools to receive the award. The program is locally sponsored for the 23rd year by Hills Bank.

Seniors selected from IMS included Emma Beachy, Avery Blauvelt, Levi Geyer, Payton Hart, Rachael Hovde, Angela Marcelino, Allison Moreland, Cole Ours, Hannah Peters and Monet Slabach. The evening’s featured speaker was Craig Schroeder, who shared the inspirational story of his son Austin (Flash) Schroeder, who died of cancer in 2015 at the age of 15.

Youth Salute is a program of The National Council on Youth Leadership (NCYL) and locally sponsored by Hills Bank and Trust Company. The NCYL is guided by the vision of making tomorrow’s world better by developing leaders today. The council’s mission is to assist communities to applaud, encourage, and provide opportunity for the leadership development of their youth.